Established in Western Australia in 1975, EBM has since grown to become one of Australia’s premier insurance broking firms, with a network of offices throughout the nation.

The EBM team is drawn from a group of widely experienced and highly qualified people, and all of our senior brokers are Qualified Practising Insurance Brokers with decades of experience in Australia and internationally. There are a number of areas of specialisation within the company so that clients with highly specific requirements can be assured that they are dealing with brokers well versed in their industry or business.

Alan Bishop – AM

Director since 1975.
Alan Bishop was the founding principal of EBM in 1975 and has over 40 years in the industry. National President of the National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) from 1996 to 1998, Alan served 15 years as a Director and was awarded an Honourary Fellowship. During this period, as well as steering EBM to become the largest privately owned Australian broker, Alan was involved in directing the insurance broking industry through some of its most turbulent times such as the HIH crisis and the introduction of the Financial Services Reform Act (FSRA). in 2019, Alan was a recipient of the Order of Australia in for his significant service to the insurance industry and community. He also currently serves as a member of the Churchlands Senior High School Foundation (Inc.) board. Alan forms part of the EBM’s National Executive.

Ward Dedman

Director since 2004.
Ward has over 20 years’ experience in the insurance industry having commenced in claims and underwriting for major insurers in 1994 before joining a broking firm in 1997. In 2007 Ward was successful in achieving the National NIBA Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. Ward commenced with EBM in early 2000 and during this time has transitioned from General Manager to Managing Director (Group Operations) and into his current role of Chief Executive Officer / Executive Director. Ward has also served as Chairman of NIBA’s WA Divisional Committee and is presently a National Board Director of NIBA. Ward became a shareholder of EBM in 2009 and forms part of the company’s National Executive.

Steve Sparkes

Director since 2004.
Having commenced his insurance career with a major insurer in 1986 Steve joined EBM as an Account Manager just 2 years later, taking over a number of accounts from outgoing director John Molineaux. Over more than 25 years with the company Steve has transitioned from Executive Account Manager to General Manager and now as Managing Director (Broking). Steve became a shareholder of EBM in 2009 and forms part of the company’s National Executive.

Jeff Adams

Director since 1987.
Served over 40 years in the industry and 29 were spent with EBM until transitioning to Executive Consultant and non-Executive Director in 2014. Over this period Jeff was involved with growing the EBM business and as its Managing Director leading EBM to the most enviable position of Australia’s leading privately owned and operated insurance broker. Jeff is a Qualified Practicing Insurance Broker, has achieved an Advanced Diploma of Financial Services (Insurance Broking) and attained Fellowship of NIBA. He also currently serves as Chairman of the Scott Joyce Appeal Fund, a public charity.

Michael Monaghan – AM

Director since 1984.
A recipient of the Order of Australia for services to hospitality, tourism and community service, Michael is an investor and hotelier with experience providing leadership to key local and national organisations. He was Federal President of the Australian Hotels Association and has served as a board member for the Tourism Council of Australia and the Liquor Industry Council among his many tenures. He was also a member of the Board of Commissioners for Tourism Western Australia.

Terry O’Connor – AM QC

Director since 1986.
Formerly a senior partner with Stephen Jacques Stone James (now King & Wood Mallesons) and Member of the Legal Practice Board, Terry received the Order of Australia for services to the legal profession, higher education, health services and the community. Terry’s extensive career includes service as Commissioner of the Australian Football League, Chairman of the Anti-Corruption Commission and Chairman of the West Coast Eagles.

Dalton Gooding

Director since 1998.
Dalton is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Managing Partner of Gooding Partners Chartered Accountants and was a former Partner with Ernst & Young and Chairman of the West Coast Eagles. He is also the Chairman of TFS Corporation Ltd, Brierty Ltd, Katana Capital Ltd, St Ives Pty Ltd and a board member of RAC Holdings Pty Ltd, RAC Insurance Pty Ltd and a Councillor of RAC.